It is matter of great pride and pleasure for us, the institutes and industries around Vadodara that Gujarat Technological University (GTU) one of the largest Universities for Technical Education in Gujarat, has accorded GTU Innovation Sankul Vadodara – 1 to be established and managed or led by “Babaria Institute of Technology” Varnama, Vadodara. This is an innovative initiative to bring students, academicians and industries together on common platform. Students’ innovative and creative attitude will be nurtured to solve problems of industries in a structured and systematic manner. This would bring academia closure to industries as in vogue in the western developed countries. Babaria Institute of Technology has taken up the challenge in this GTU’s new venture.

The Hon’ Vice chancellor Dr. Akshai Aggarwal is the Chairman of the GTU innovation council and Professor A. R. Pandya (Director R & D) of Babaria Institute of Technology and Mrs. Avi Sabavala President of Vadodara Chamber of Commerce & Industry (VCCI) are appointed as Co-Chairmen from academic and industries respectively for Innovation Sankul Vadodara – 1. Under this Sankul, there are 15 Engineering colleges and every college has one consulting Cell called UDISHA (Universal Development of Integrated Skills through Higher Education) club headed by the Principal of institute. The students of every college shall visit (shodh yatra) the small and medium Enterprises (MSME) as per programme organized by Sankul Co-Chairmen. They will identify real problems of industries and then engage in design and development with guidance and mentoring from seniors in industry and academics.

It is also envisaged under this scheme to arrange exchange programme of teachers and professionals from industry to impart quality, latest and need based education.

GTU appoints 7 more Co-Chairmen from industry and academia for GTU Innovation Sankuls Date: 27/4/11

Venue: GTU Conference Hall

GTU Innovation Council appointed seven more co-chairmen for industry and academia in a meeting chaired by Honourable Vice Chancellor, Prof. Akshai Agarwal held at GTU Conference Hall. Prof. Agarwal assessed the work of various Sankuls which were set up in the first phase. Dignitaries like Prof. N.G. Hiranandani , Prof. J.K.Rathod, Shri Dipak Shah, Mr. Ashok Panjwani, Prof. Jivraj Patel, Dr. K.N.Mistry, Dr .Hiren Patel and Mr. Hiranmay Mahanta were present, who shared their views based upon the initial experiments carried out at various Sankuls.

Prof. Ashok R. Pandya has been nominated as the Sankul co-chairman (Academic) in the Vadodara 1 Sankul . He shared some innovative strategies in linking institutions of various streams under each Sankul to harness the optimum potential of technical minds. He also shared his thoughts on inclusive Innovation Sankul development by appointing directors from all streams like Engineering, MBA, Pharmacy, MCA and Polytechnic. Mr. Deepak P.Shah was appointed as Co-Chairman (Industry) for Surendranagar Innovation Sankul. He shared his vision and thoughts in linking small industry clusters of central Gujarat and mapping their industry-defined problems from various floors. He stressed on the need for special efforts at the grass root level when the professional students start their academic work even at the first year level. He also said that he would be able to bring all the associations and chambers in the area into the Sankul. He also said that he would be able to use all the media for disseminating the information about the GTU Innovation Sankul widely.

Mr. Ashok Panjwani has been nominated as Co-Chair (Industry) for Ankleshwar-Bharuch Sankul. He pointed out innovative strategies for reaching out to SMEs and scouting Industry Defined Projects (IDPs). Prof. Jivraj Patel suggested that in addition to the Principals/ Director, the managing trustees should also be invited to the Sankul meetings. Dr. K N Mistry has been nominated as Co-Chair (Academic) of Surat Sankul. He shared his attempts for improving innovation quotient and skill parameters of each student. He suggested initial support to innovative works based upon the problem thesis submitted after the summer industrial shodh yatra. Dr. Ajoy P. Bhattacharya (President, SGCCI) has been nominated as the Co-Chair (Industry) for Surat Innovation Sankul. Ms. Avi Sabavala (President, VCCI) has been nominated as the Co-Chair (Industry) for the Sankul Innovation at Vadodara -1